<For Immediate Release>

December 15, 2003

Changes in the Members of the Board of Directors and Executive Officers

Asahi Glass Co., Ltd.

Following the recommendation of the Nominating Committee and approval at the Meeting of the Board of Directors that was held at 13:00 today, Asahi Glass announced a set of changes in the members of the Board of Directors and Executive Officers as described below.

The changes of the members of the Board of Directors will be made subject to approval at the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders to be held in late March 2004. The changes in Executive Officers will be made subject to approval at the Meeting of the Board of Directors to be held on the same day.

1. Changes in the members of the Board of Directors (including new position as Executive Officer):

[New Position]	[Name]	[Current Position]
Director, Chairman of the Board	Shinya Ishizu	(Representative Director, President & CEO)
Representative Director, President & CEO	Masahiro Kadomatsu	(Senior Executive Vice President, President of Display Company)
Representative Director, Senior Executive Vice President, CFO	Takashi Matsuzawa	(Director, Senior Executive Officer, CFO, GM of Finance & Accounting Center)
(Retire*)	Hiromichi Seya (*) to becor	(Representative Director, Chairman of the Board) ne the Advisor after the retirement
(Retire)	Tetsuji Tanaka	(Representative Director, Senior Executive Vice President)
2. Changes in Executive Officers:		
[New Position]	[Name]	[Current Position]
Senior Executive Vice President, President of Display Company	Takashi Wada	(Senior Executive Officer, GM of Corporate Planning)
Senior Executive Officer, President of Chemicals Company	Michiyoshi Kaino	(Executive Officer, President of Chemicals Company)
Executive Officer, GM of HR and Admin. Center	Katsuyoshi Kawaharazuka	(Executive Officer, Deputy GM of HR and Admin. Center)

Executive Officer, GM of Corporate Planning	Takashi Terashima	(Executive Officer, GM of Corporate Controller)	
Executive Officer, Deputy GM of Corporate Planning	Masafumi Ohinata	(Executive Officer, GM of Engineering Center)	
(The following five persons will be newly appointed as Executive Officer)			
Executive Officer, CEO of Glaverbel S.A. <regional europe,<br="" of="" president="">Flat Glass Company></regional>	Arthur Ulens	(CEO of Glaverbel S.A. <regional europe,<br="" of="" president="">Flat Glass Company>)</regional>	
Executive Officer, President of Asahi Glass Ceramics Co., Ltd.	Eiichi Kudo	(President of Asahi Glass Ceramics Co., Ltd.)	
Executive Officer, GM of Purchase & Logistics Center	Toshifumi Kagoi	(GM of Purchase & Logistics Center)	
Executive Officer, GM of Keihin Plant	Shoji Atsuta	(GM of Keihin Plant)	
Executive Officer, Deputy GM of Corporate Planning	Toru Kawatsura	(GM of Quality Assurance, Automotive Glass Company)	
(Retire)	Tetuzou Suwa	(Senior Executive Officer, GM of HR and Admin. Center)	

(Abbreviation) "GM": General Manager

END

<For further inquiries>

Contact:	Shinichi Kawakami, GM of Corporate Communications, Asahi Glass Co., Ltd.
Staff in charge:	Yoshihiko Saito, Corporate Communications Phone number: +81-3-3218-5915 E-mail address: info-pr@om.agc.co.jp